Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Understanding the presentation and disclosure requirements of IFRS 17

September 30, 2020 @ 8:00 am - 9:30 am EDT

Free
KPMG CPE Webinar

Participants of the live webinar will be eligible for 1.5 free CPE credit.

Register Here

Session 1 Americas/EMA: Wednesday 30 September 2020

8:00am – 9:30am (EDT)

1:00pm – 2:30 pm (BST)

2:00pm – 3:30pm  (CEST)

Estimated CPE – 1.5 Credit

 

Session 2 ASPAC: Thursday 1 October 2020

8:00am – 9:30am (HKT)

9:00am – 10:30am (JST)

10:00am 11:30am (AEST)

Estimated CPE – No CPE

Webcast overview

Given the challenges presented by COVID-19, insurers want to make sure that their IFRS 17 implementation programs are focused and efficient. One of the best ways insurers can bring IFRS 17 to life quickly is through the lens of the new look financial statements that insurers will need to produce.

This webcast will summarize the impact for insurers’ financial statements, suggest activities that insurers should be doing now to link their KPIs, planning and forecasting and how insurers can run their business with their new look financial statements. Mark Vaessen, EFRAG Board Member and partner with KPMG in the Netherlands, where he heads the Department of Professional Practice, will be joining the webcast to provide perspective.

Following the webcast, participants should be able to explain at a high level:

  • The presentation and disclosure requirements of IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts and other relevant developments in IFRS.
  • How to link the KPIs they use to run their business with their new look financial statements.
  • EFRAG’s activities leading up to its endorsement advice on IFRS 17

Featured speakers

Mary Trussell

Mary Trussell

Global Insurance Change Lead Partner, KPMG International

Joachim Koelschbach

Joachim Koelschbach

Partner, IFRS Insurance Leader, KPMG Germany

Mark Vaessen

Mark Vaessen

Partner, Audit, KPMG in the Netherlands

Bob Owel

Bob Owel

Director, International Standards Group, Insurance, KPMG UK

Albert Chai

Albert Chai

Associate Director, Accounting Advisory Practice, KPMG Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

Subscribe Here